I really must blog more. I miss it and my blog is being left sadly unattended......
So NMS class is wow........ I never really thought about how difficult it might be. like totally my sign language teacher and I had worked on facial expression some and were just beginning to touch on it but I hadn't realized that theire were specific things for specific words, I just thought the facial expresion was to show the feeling behind what you were saying. I absolutely love ASL I just wish that I could be more fluent. Sometimes I feel like I'm out in left field somewhere, trying to grasp the concepts and the language itself, cramming my head full of information and I'm losing some along the way, frantically trying to retain what I've been given, AND receive the new information being thrown at me without losing anything. My brain feels very full right now lol. but yet there is still SOOOOOO much more that I have to learn and want to learn and need to learn......... oh goodness..... maybe i'll just stop thinking until my next class at 1:30..... lets go find some brainless activity... lol
Tuesday, November 11, 2008
Thursday, November 6, 2008
Thursday, October 23, 2008
NERVOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am soooooo nervous about my test today. It is in my Non-Manual Signs class and eek! That class is scary! I'm doing pretty well in the class I think if my grades prove anything but oh my goodness this test covers chapters 4-7 which doesn't seem like a lot but there are sooo many facial things to remember that oh my goodness.. haha. well i'll just say a prayer and hope for the best.
Tuesday, October 21, 2008
Well then....
So last Friday we didn't have class because over half of the class was going to Romney for a Cochlear Implant workshop. I couldn't go because I had math class, but I guess like only 2 people from everyone that said they were going went. So wow I like couldn't believe it. Out of like I don't know 10 people that said they were going 2 went. That's it. I just wow. Anyway so we have this thing on November 1 that we are going to. I'm excited to go and meet people, but at the same time its a little nervewracking. i mean I have met some people when I go bowling, but I always feel awkward introducing myself to new people. This is in the hearing and Deaf world. I just don't like to introduce myself. I like to be introduced or I like people to search me out lol. I just get like sooo nervous or whatever cause I feel like I'm gonna make a huge mistake that will be talked about forever! haha. oh well I've overcome this insecurity before, I'll do it again. So i'm like supossed to talk to them just like a normal conversation. Which I'm also a little nervous about because like how do you just like talk to someone you have just met? I don't know. So my feelings are split. One side- excited, one side- very very nervous.
Saturday, October 18, 2008
hmmm
So we had our final for our first ASL class last thursday. I picked up my test on friday and was so excited to see that i had gotten all of my receptive sentences right!!!!!!! WOOT! I'm trying to use my ASL as much as possible outside of the classroom even if its just signing a random word I know in the middle of a conversation :) its so much fun! I love ASL SOO MUCH!!!!!!!!! I get a little stressed out sometimes and feel like i'm never going to learn anything, but thats just one of my character flaws lol. I can't wait to learn even more!
I hope that they offer the Intro to ASL class next semester. It's really funny because most of the people in my ASL have the class that is so lovingly called the dictionary class, and they constantly forget that I'm not in the class so I'm always confusing them. Because they'll come up to me and be like don't we have a test today? and i'm like um no...... haha and then they'll ask Ruby and she's like yeah. and they just look at me and then i realize they're talking about the dictionary class. anyway I'm hoping I can get the class next semester because i'm really trying to stay on the 2-year program schedule so that in 2-years i can transfer to EKU for the 4-year program. I'm very excited to see where life is going to take me and what God has in store for me.... :D
I hope that they offer the Intro to ASL class next semester. It's really funny because most of the people in my ASL have the class that is so lovingly called the dictionary class, and they constantly forget that I'm not in the class so I'm always confusing them. Because they'll come up to me and be like don't we have a test today? and i'm like um no...... haha and then they'll ask Ruby and she's like yeah. and they just look at me and then i realize they're talking about the dictionary class. anyway I'm hoping I can get the class next semester because i'm really trying to stay on the 2-year program schedule so that in 2-years i can transfer to EKU for the 4-year program. I'm very excited to see where life is going to take me and what God has in store for me.... :D
Saturday, October 11, 2008
Sometimes.......
ok so by nature I'm a worrier. its like my job or something.... so like I totally am freaking out that i will never learn ASL fluently. I know that it is unfounded and whatever. but i feel like i should be so much farther than I am. I have completely good intentions, like i checked out a ton of books from the library and am looking through them but its just so frusterating because i don't feel like things are coming to me as fast as they should. I'm not a very patient person and so when I don't know a word or when I'm having trouble fingerspelling whatever is being spelled I feel so crappy because i'm like i totally should know this!
Next semester is going to be crazy but I'm really excited, I hope Fairmont Offers the intro to ASL (a.k.a. dictionary class) if not i'll have to wait like another year before entering ITP which would be sad, especially since I'd like to transfer to Eastern Kentucky University after I finish the 2 year program at FSU...... anyway i still love it. and i get to go bowling tomorrow night so i'm totally excited!!!!!!!!
I can't wait until I'm given a sign name. But I just have to wait until I get to know a Deaf person and that person gets to know me..... Ruby sometimes gives people sign names but so far I don't have one. lol
Next semester is going to be crazy but I'm really excited, I hope Fairmont Offers the intro to ASL (a.k.a. dictionary class) if not i'll have to wait like another year before entering ITP which would be sad, especially since I'd like to transfer to Eastern Kentucky University after I finish the 2 year program at FSU...... anyway i still love it. and i get to go bowling tomorrow night so i'm totally excited!!!!!!!!
I can't wait until I'm given a sign name. But I just have to wait until I get to know a Deaf person and that person gets to know me..... Ruby sometimes gives people sign names but so far I don't have one. lol
Thursday, October 2, 2008
Game Yesterday!
Oh goodness I haven't posted in forever! I miss it!! :( i shall try to be better.
Yesterday in ASL class we played a game called "Sign-It"... We were separated into 4 teams each with 4 players. Well 2 of the people that were on my team had gone to do something. I'm not sure what so Ruby's like well it'll just be you and Jennifer until they get back. Ok fine we're cool with that. I immediately claimed the orange because orange is the best color ever created. So anyway we start playing. Ruby and Jilian were on the same team so I was determined to beat them. Cause its just fun to have a little competitiveness going on as long as it doesn't get mean. Anyway so for the longest time Ruby's team and the Jennifer-Lauren duo were neck and neck... Then near the end the Jennifer-Lauren duo pulled away and we WON!!!!!! Woot it was sooooo much fun!!!!!!!! the other 2 members of our team came in towards the end so they don't get any credit for the victory.. lol it was awesome! It just goes to show that no matter how small you are you can still overcome and win! hehe it was great!
Yesterday in ASL class we played a game called "Sign-It"... We were separated into 4 teams each with 4 players. Well 2 of the people that were on my team had gone to do something. I'm not sure what so Ruby's like well it'll just be you and Jennifer until they get back. Ok fine we're cool with that. I immediately claimed the orange because orange is the best color ever created. So anyway we start playing. Ruby and Jilian were on the same team so I was determined to beat them. Cause its just fun to have a little competitiveness going on as long as it doesn't get mean. Anyway so for the longest time Ruby's team and the Jennifer-Lauren duo were neck and neck... Then near the end the Jennifer-Lauren duo pulled away and we WON!!!!!! Woot it was sooooo much fun!!!!!!!! the other 2 members of our team came in towards the end so they don't get any credit for the victory.. lol it was awesome! It just goes to show that no matter how small you are you can still overcome and win! hehe it was great!
Friday, September 26, 2008
Thursday, September 25, 2008
ASL!!!!!! FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh goodness I completely LOVE sign language!!! it is sooo beautiful and wow I just love it! I love interacting with Deaf people and trying to understand and be understood. Although its a challenge and sometimes is frusterating I love it soo much! Now if I can just get the hang of NMS I'll be ready to go.... haha
Thursday, September 18, 2008
EEK!!!!!!!!!!
ok so today was a test in NMS (non-manual signs) the things in sign language that don't use the hands (body language, facial expression, roll shifting Etc..) I REALLY don't think i did very well... I like went to Ruby's office 3 times to check the ASL filing cabinet to see if she had filed the test yet (we just go into this outer part and there is a filing cabinet that we can go pick up our assignments at any time) so anyway it still isn't there! grr hopefully tomorrow! Because although I don't want to know my score... I Need to know my score!!!! man! grrness.... oh well
Wednesday, September 17, 2008
Fun Day!
Today we had a game day! :) It was so much fun. A group of 9 of us played Apples to Apples. I love this game (my family doesn't) so I was happy to be able to play again! We weren't allowed to use our voices which was a challenge at times and we frequently had to be reminded to "turn off our voices" Because we're not native users, when you get caught up in the moment you sometimes forget that your using sign language and you just use your voice.... (oh and btw I won) WOOT! haha
I'm am SOOOO nervous about my test in NMS tomorrow! This class is kinda hard for me to grasp, but it is SOOO important!!! I want to be the best signer I can be and this is a very crucial part of signing. The facial expressions are just so foreign to me that I often feel lost. But I'm excited for the test as well because I'll be able to see just how bad I am :)
So anyway I really can't think of anything else to say. I had a whole slew of things I wanted to say but now that I finally made it to my computer at 11:30 I can't remember them! :) oh well.
I'm am SOOOO nervous about my test in NMS tomorrow! This class is kinda hard for me to grasp, but it is SOOO important!!! I want to be the best signer I can be and this is a very crucial part of signing. The facial expressions are just so foreign to me that I often feel lost. But I'm excited for the test as well because I'll be able to see just how bad I am :)
So anyway I really can't think of anything else to say. I had a whole slew of things I wanted to say but now that I finally made it to my computer at 11:30 I can't remember them! :) oh well.
Tuesday, September 16, 2008
Why I decided to major in American Sign Language
I can't say it's a complicated story.... I've known the alphabet from the time I was very little... I had a poster that hung in my room that showed the alphabet and I would stand in front of the poster and practice for hours. Communicating with people who speak differently than I do has always facinated me. Whether it be learning Spanish or sign language. The cultures, the language, and the people really truly are amazing and I love to be able to communicate with them in their native language. So as I was thinking about what I wanted to do with my life I started thinking about sign language again but I didn't know anyone that knew sign language and I had no idea on how to get started. One day I was at the libary and saw a pamphlet that said "we sing 2"... well that's what i thought it said anyway. I picked it up and started reading it because I was always looking for something new to do with singing. As I started to read I got really confused because there was nothing in the pamphlet about singing, I looked at the the front and realized it said "We Sign 2" and it talked about private lessons. I was stoked! I took the pamphlet home and got on the website and e-mailed the instructor. She e-mailed back and after we talked for a while she offered to come to my mom's bakery to teach lessons. I was sooo excited! So we began lessons. Everything went well for a time but then I hit a mind block and although Janelle tried everything, nothing seems to penetrate and stay.... It wasn't her fault it was totally mine and I got soo frustrated! i enrolled in FSU after I graduated and got involved in sign language classes. So far I haven't hit one of those mind blocks again :) and I really hope it stays that way! Another difference I think, is a perfect way to learn the language is to have to depend on it to communicate. Janelle was hearing and if I wasn't getting something then she would just tell me evetually. Ruby is Deaf so she may type it eventually but I feel bad every time she has to do that so I'm learning and retaining more because I'm depending on the language. Anyway I said all of that to say that for me Sign Language is another language available for me to learn so that I can communicate with more people and I'm not limited to those who speak English! I've never really had much contact with Deaf people. But as I'm meeting more, I'm falling more in love with the beauty of the language and the people that speak it, or sign it in this case....
Awesome Story!!!!
So today in class we played a game... Pretty much like charades... Anyway we were spit into 2 teams and one person would go up and fingerspell a word. Then the people on the opposite team would try to guess what the word had been. Trick... They only spelled it once. There was no "repeat" So if you happened to look away and they started a word... tough luck. Well anyway my team was losing so I decided that my word had to be good. I decided to use my absolute favorite word in the English language.... "Crestfallen" meaning: dejected, dispirited, discouraged. I think this is the most amazing word ever created. anyway I go up and I spell my lovely word. And no one can guess it. So Ruby tells me to spell it again.. Which kinda surprised me because she hadn't said that to anyone so far... So I spell it again. Still no one gets it. So she tells me.. Use you voice and tell them. So I say my word was "crestfallen" and they all simultaniously go "WHAT?" It was soooo great! So i said (in sign language of course) that it was SAD. which is dilluting the meaning quite a bit but i didn't know how to say a stronger word for sad. So I go to sit in my seat and my friend Sarah goes "Well homeschooler, pulling out the big words" It was the hi-light of my day! We had just had a conversation over lunch about a piece of flair that a friend of ours had seen on facebook that said "Yes, I am homeschooled. I'll try to use smaller words" so it made the moment all the funnier! Hah it was great fun!
Sunday, September 14, 2008
New Experience
Tonight I went to a bowling alley in Fairmont where there was a Deaf Bowling League meeting. Ruby wants us to socialize with the Deaf (Well more than just her) :) So that we can practice talking with Deaf people and all that jazz. So I went with 2 of the other girls from my class. I felt a little awkward because I didn't feel like I knew enough of the language to really communicate with the people around me. My 2 friends and I spent the evening with Ruby's father, He was hilarious! He was patient with us and didn't make us feel ridiculous when we messed up (although he did joke about it). I'm sure the fact that he had the full attention of 3 teenage girls helped our cases :) haha, anyway he told mistakes and helped us when we were stuck with a sign. As the night wore on I became more comfortable with trying to talk and although I had to fingerspell a lot of the words, I learned new signs and really had a lot of fun. I hope that I can go again next weekend! I REALLY think that it is beneficial to socialize with speakers of the language in order to learn it! :) I had such a great evening! :)
Thursday, September 11, 2008
oh goodness
Today Ruby cancelled our 2nd sign language class of the day because she was sick. In our first class I felt so bad for her because nothing was working right! NMS (non- manual signs) is a difficult class for me. Its confusing to remember which NMS goes with which word. I hope that I can catch on too it because it is a VERY important part of American Sign Language! I thought I would kinda introduce myself in this post since I didn't do that the first time lol. My name is Lauren I'm 18 and I have 2 brothers. I live at home with my mom, dad, and 2 brothers. I'm the oldest by a 1 1/2 years. I LOVE GOD!!! He is sooo amazing! Music is my second passion followed closely by books and movies :)
Music is a pretty much universal language. I used to think that music was THE universal language but, learning more about the Deaf culture I'm thinking more about how they react to things and such and I realized that music is NOT the universal language because although the Deaf can feel the vibrations, I'm not sure if they feel the emotion of it. I'll have to ask Ruby. It's SO interesting to learn about this culture and this life! I'm so excited to learn more!
Music is a pretty much universal language. I used to think that music was THE universal language but, learning more about the Deaf culture I'm thinking more about how they react to things and such and I realized that music is NOT the universal language because although the Deaf can feel the vibrations, I'm not sure if they feel the emotion of it. I'll have to ask Ruby. It's SO interesting to learn about this culture and this life! I'm so excited to learn more!
Wednesday, September 10, 2008
My very first entry
Today is my first ever blog entry! I'm pretty excited but a little iffy too :) anyway,
Hi I'm Lauren. I'm in my first year of college this year and I am learning American Sign Language. It is a BEAUTIFUL language and I'm so excited to be learning it! Today I had to submit my first video of me signing. I was really nervous and had a hard time finding things to say! At one point I said "family" instead of "group" but hey can't be perfect my first day! haha
It was more difficult to just think of things to say to a camera than coming up with things to say like in a conversation. It's been very interesting to learn about the Deaf culture and the Deaf language. Sometimes it can be frusterating because I know so little of the language and so my vocabulary is limited. The other day in class we watched a video on User Syndrome. I had never heard of this syndrome and I found it fascinating how the people just took things in stride and adapted to life with slowly failing sight. I haven't figured out a way yet to cut out all sound so that I have to rely on other senses to function. I'm weird in that I like to try to experience things in the shoes of other people. I once walked around my mom's bakery with my eyes squeezed shut and a stick stuck out in front of me so that I could experience what it felt like to not be able to see. I almost broke my neck cause I ran into some stuff scattered on the floor and refused to open my eyes to find a way around because the blind don't have the option. I recently got a movie that has narration for the visually impared and I can't wait to watch it with my eyes closed to see if I can picture the movie in my head. Sadly I watched the movie before I discovered this feature so now I have to find another movie that I haven't seen and watch it first with eyes closed and then watch with eyes opened to see if I was correct :) Anyway I used to try to figure out a way to cut out sound to see what it would be like to live in a life completely void of sound. I haven't figured it out yet but as soon as I do I'll blog about it! :)
Well I can't really think of anything else to write so I think I'll sign off for now :)
Lauren
Hi I'm Lauren. I'm in my first year of college this year and I am learning American Sign Language. It is a BEAUTIFUL language and I'm so excited to be learning it! Today I had to submit my first video of me signing. I was really nervous and had a hard time finding things to say! At one point I said "family" instead of "group" but hey can't be perfect my first day! haha
It was more difficult to just think of things to say to a camera than coming up with things to say like in a conversation. It's been very interesting to learn about the Deaf culture and the Deaf language. Sometimes it can be frusterating because I know so little of the language and so my vocabulary is limited. The other day in class we watched a video on User Syndrome. I had never heard of this syndrome and I found it fascinating how the people just took things in stride and adapted to life with slowly failing sight. I haven't figured out a way yet to cut out all sound so that I have to rely on other senses to function. I'm weird in that I like to try to experience things in the shoes of other people. I once walked around my mom's bakery with my eyes squeezed shut and a stick stuck out in front of me so that I could experience what it felt like to not be able to see. I almost broke my neck cause I ran into some stuff scattered on the floor and refused to open my eyes to find a way around because the blind don't have the option. I recently got a movie that has narration for the visually impared and I can't wait to watch it with my eyes closed to see if I can picture the movie in my head. Sadly I watched the movie before I discovered this feature so now I have to find another movie that I haven't seen and watch it first with eyes closed and then watch with eyes opened to see if I was correct :) Anyway I used to try to figure out a way to cut out sound to see what it would be like to live in a life completely void of sound. I haven't figured it out yet but as soon as I do I'll blog about it! :)
Well I can't really think of anything else to write so I think I'll sign off for now :)
Lauren
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
