Thursday, October 23, 2008

NERVOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am soooooo nervous about my test today. It is in my Non-Manual Signs class and eek! That class is scary! I'm doing pretty well in the class I think if my grades prove anything but oh my goodness this test covers chapters 4-7 which doesn't seem like a lot but there are sooo many facial things to remember that oh my goodness.. haha. well i'll just say a prayer and hope for the best.

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Well then....

So last Friday we didn't have class because over half of the class was going to Romney for a Cochlear Implant workshop. I couldn't go because I had math class, but I guess like only 2 people from everyone that said they were going went. So wow I like couldn't believe it. Out of like I don't know 10 people that said they were going 2 went. That's it. I just wow. Anyway so we have this thing on November 1 that we are going to. I'm excited to go and meet people, but at the same time its a little nervewracking. i mean I have met some people when I go bowling, but I always feel awkward introducing myself to new people. This is in the hearing and Deaf world. I just don't like to introduce myself. I like to be introduced or I like people to search me out lol. I just get like sooo nervous or whatever cause I feel like I'm gonna make a huge mistake that will be talked about forever! haha. oh well I've overcome this insecurity before, I'll do it again. So i'm like supossed to talk to them just like a normal conversation. Which I'm also a little nervous about because like how do you just like talk to someone you have just met? I don't know. So my feelings are split. One side- excited, one side- very very nervous.

Saturday, October 18, 2008

hmmm

So we had our final for our first ASL class last thursday. I picked up my test on friday and was so excited to see that i had gotten all of my receptive sentences right!!!!!!! WOOT! I'm trying to use my ASL as much as possible outside of the classroom even if its just signing a random word I know in the middle of a conversation :) its so much fun! I love ASL SOO MUCH!!!!!!!!! I get a little stressed out sometimes and feel like i'm never going to learn anything, but thats just one of my character flaws lol. I can't wait to learn even more!

I hope that they offer the Intro to ASL class next semester. It's really funny because most of the people in my ASL have the class that is so lovingly called the dictionary class, and they constantly forget that I'm not in the class so I'm always confusing them. Because they'll come up to me and be like don't we have a test today? and i'm like um no...... haha and then they'll ask Ruby and she's like yeah. and they just look at me and then i realize they're talking about the dictionary class. anyway I'm hoping I can get the class next semester because i'm really trying to stay on the 2-year program schedule so that in 2-years i can transfer to EKU for the 4-year program. I'm very excited to see where life is going to take me and what God has in store for me.... :D

Saturday, October 11, 2008

Sometimes.......

ok so by nature I'm a worrier. its like my job or something.... so like I totally am freaking out that i will never learn ASL fluently. I know that it is unfounded and whatever. but i feel like i should be so much farther than I am. I have completely good intentions, like i checked out a ton of books from the library and am looking through them but its just so frusterating because i don't feel like things are coming to me as fast as they should. I'm not a very patient person and so when I don't know a word or when I'm having trouble fingerspelling whatever is being spelled I feel so crappy because i'm like i totally should know this!

Next semester is going to be crazy but I'm really excited, I hope Fairmont Offers the intro to ASL (a.k.a. dictionary class) if not i'll have to wait like another year before entering ITP which would be sad, especially since I'd like to transfer to Eastern Kentucky University after I finish the 2 year program at FSU...... anyway i still love it. and i get to go bowling tomorrow night so i'm totally excited!!!!!!!!

I can't wait until I'm given a sign name. But I just have to wait until I get to know a Deaf person and that person gets to know me..... Ruby sometimes gives people sign names but so far I don't have one. lol

Thursday, October 2, 2008

Game Yesterday!

Oh goodness I haven't posted in forever! I miss it!! :( i shall try to be better.
Yesterday in ASL class we played a game called "Sign-It"... We were separated into 4 teams each with 4 players. Well 2 of the people that were on my team had gone to do something. I'm not sure what so Ruby's like well it'll just be you and Jennifer until they get back. Ok fine we're cool with that. I immediately claimed the orange because orange is the best color ever created. So anyway we start playing. Ruby and Jilian were on the same team so I was determined to beat them. Cause its just fun to have a little competitiveness going on as long as it doesn't get mean. Anyway so for the longest time Ruby's team and the Jennifer-Lauren duo were neck and neck... Then near the end the Jennifer-Lauren duo pulled away and we WON!!!!!! Woot it was sooooo much fun!!!!!!!! the other 2 members of our team came in towards the end so they don't get any credit for the victory.. lol it was awesome! It just goes to show that no matter how small you are you can still overcome and win! hehe it was great!